2022-2023 Diversity Committee Members


The Diversity Committee

Mission Statement

The Clinical Psychology Program at the University of Kansas seeks to recognize diverse perspectives and experiences of the members of our program, our clients, and the greater community. In pursuing this goal, the faculty, staff, and students strive to enhance the education, training, and impact of the program. We recognize that diversity is an intersection of multiple identities, which includes, but is not limited to: race, ethnicity, gender identity, age, religious affiliation, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, able-bodiedness and physical abilities, family status, marital status, parental status, and national origin.  We are committed to ensuring that our program teaches students the importance of conducting research and clinical work in a manner that supports, validates, and respects the multicultural background of all members of the program and the University, our clients, and the community.

Upcoming Meetings
(All meetings are held at 10:00 in Fraser Hall room 341):

Monday, February 27, 2023

Monday, March 27, 2023 

Monday, April 24, 2023 



Past Sponsored Events:

Spring Diversity Committee sponsored Proseminar:

April 1, 2022 1pm in 547 Fraser Hall

Melissa M. Peterson, MPH Díne (Navaho) Director of Tribal Relations at KU with Lori Hassleman present:  The KU/Haskell Relationship and Ways we work Together


Faculty Advisors

  • Monica Biernat, PhD, biernat@ku.edu

  • Sarah Kirk, PhD., ABPP, skirk@ku.edu

Graduate Student Officers

  • President: Kate Helmstetter, Social Psychology

  • Vice President: Hailey Taylor, Clinical Psychology

  • Secretary: Sarah Johnson, Clinical Psychology

  • Treasurer: Pilar Thangwaritorn, Clinical Psychology

Graduate Student Members

  • Ilana Engel, Clinical Psychology

  • Alexis Exum, Clinical Psychology

  • Lex L'Insalata, Clinical Psychology

  • Stephanie Punt, Clinical Psychology

  • Mariana Rincon, Clinical Psychology